Communication Services & Information Technology
University of California
Communication Services & Information Technology

Strategic Communications

Strategic Communications shares information about UC ANR with the public through the news media, websites, blogs and other communications tools in English and Spanish.

This unit also coordinates communications from ANR administration to staff and academics through the ANR Report newsletter, the ANR Update Blog and the ANR News Blog.

Contact information:

Michael Janes
Director
mejanes@ucanr.edu
(530) 750-1204
cell (530) 304-9956

Tyler Ash
Social Media Coordinator
tylerash@ucanr.edu
(530) 750-1394

Pam Kan-Rice
Assistant Director
pam.kanrice@ucanr.edu
(530) 750-1221
cell (510) 206-3476

Liz Sizensky
Communications Specialist
easizensky@ucanr.edu
(530) 219-6912
cell (530) 219-6912

Jeannette Warnert
Communications Specialist
jewarnert@ucanr.edu
(559) 646-6074
cell (559) 240-9850

Spanish language

Ricardo Vela
Director
ricardo.vela@ucr.edu 

Norma De la Vega
Bilingual senior writer
norma.vega@ucr.edu
(951) 781-2142

Lisa Rawleigh
Administrative Assistant
lisa.rawleigh@ucr.edu
(951) 781-2153

StratComm Tools

Online news-writing style guide
A guide for writing ANR news releases using style preferred by most editors. Use it to avoid distracting readers with capitalization, punctuation, spelling and grammar errors, and to provide consistency among releases going to the press from ANR.

Acronym directory
More than 100 acronyms, their meanings and descriptions.

Writing a meeting announcement news release
Step-by-step guidance in writing a meeting announcement news release.

Experts list
A directory of ANR academics who are willing to be resources for the news media in their areas of expertise. To be added to the experts list, please e-mail jewarnert@ucanr.edu.

Webmaster Email: djkrause@ucanr.edu